Thursday, July 4, 2013

61st Annual Downbeat Critics Poll Winners

For you poll watchers out there, here are the woodwind winners of the 61st Annual Downbeat Critics Poll.  The full list of winners is on the Downbeat website, though I haven’t seen the list of other vote-getters since I don’t have the August print issue yet.  I might have some thoughts on the poll after I see the full results.  Wayne Shorter is getting a lot of attention with the release of his acclaimed recording Without a Net; besides winning the soprano saxophone category, Shorter also won Jazz Artist of the year, Without a Net won for best jazz album, and his quartet won for best jazz group. 

If anyone has any thoughts about these winners, send them here to AJS. 

Soprano Saxophone: Wayne Shorter
Alto Saxophone: Rudresh Mahanthappa
Tenor Saxophone: Joe Lovano
Baritone Saxophone: Gary Smulyan
Clarinet: Anat Cohen
Flute: Nicole Mitchell

Rising Star Soprano Saxophone: Anat Cohen
Rising Star Alto Saxophone: Tia Fuller
Rising Star Tenor Saxophone: Jon Irabagon
Rising Star Baritone Saxophone: Vinny Golia
Rising Star Clarinet: Ben Goldberg
Rising Star Flute: Tia Fuller

No comments:

Post a Comment